Ad-Hoc Expert Committee

To guarantee a seamless, knowledge-based, and timely curation and management of the World Atlas of Languages dataset, the UNESCO’s Director-General appointed an Ad-Hoc Expert Committee of the World Atlas of Languages. The goal of the Committee is to attune the Word Atlas of Languages to the mission of UNESCO by underlining the importance of multilingualism in promoting equitable access to information and knowledge, especially in the public domain, and in encouraging access to information for all, multilingualism, and cultural diversity on the global information networks.

The Ad-Hoc Expert Committee is composed of the following members:

Professor Maria Fasli
Executive Dean, Faculty of Science and Health
University of Essex
UNESCO Chair on Analytics and Data Science 

Professor Mandana Seyfeddinipur
Director of the Endangered Languages Documentation Programme and the Endangered Languages Archives
Berlin Brandensurgische Academy of Sciences

Professor Ranko Matasović
Secretary of the Department of Philology of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts

Professor Franc Marušič
Professor of Linguistics, University of Nova Gorica

Dr Damian Blasi
Researcher in Language Diversity and Data Science
Harvard University

Professor Anvita Abbi
President of the Linguistic Society of India

Professor Felix Ameka
Professor by Special Appointment and Senior University Lecturer at the Centre for Linguistics
Leiden University

Professor Andy Chebanne
Professor in languages and linguistics in the faculty of Humanities
University of Botswana

Professor Majdi Owda
Associate Professor in Computer Science
Arab American University

Professor Dwi Noverini Djenar
Associate Professor
Discipline Chair, Indonesian Studies
School of Languages and Cultures
The University of Sydney

Professor Aicha Belkadi
Professor School of Languages, Cultures and Linguistics
SOAS University of London

Professor Alexandra Aikhenvald
Professorial research fellow and Australian Laureate Fellow
Central Queensland University